top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejwaussies

Why our dogs are not all AKC





Akc papers used to matter to me. But over time, they've lost some of their value to me. I've seen good and bad dogs that were all akc and that paper didnt mean anything. Ive seen so many back yard breeders that sell akc puppies only because akc pups bring in more money. I've seen both healthy and unhealthy dogs that were akc. You can easily get your hands on an akc pup. Just spend a little extra money and that's all there is to it. Now I'm not saying all akc dogs are equal. There are some amazing breeders out there raising amazing akc dogs! But at the same time there are 10 times more back yard breeders that want to make an extra buck so they sell "papered" pups.

So to me ... I want to know my dogs are healthy and are breed standard. You can see quality in how they look, and in their health of their parents, etc. You should always ask to see their parents and you should be able to see that the parents have the qualities of the breed. Ask for vet records. Ask for a veterinarian referral. What's important is the health of the pup and its health history particularly within its parents, and that the pup and his parents have the qualities of their breed.


While we do have some akc aussies, most of our dogs are not registered. But they are in good health, regularly checked at their veterinarian, well groomed, well trained (in the process of), they are beautiful examples of thier breed standard, they have amazing personalities and are very skillful quick learners. And all of our puppies will be treated the same, and also go to their new homes with a health guarantee. We want to be part of their lives forever and ask that their new owners send us updates and photos as they grow.


So I'm no longer particular about papers. I'm particular about health and quality. 😊

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page